Research Guides: Fashion Design and Merchandising Research Guide: FASH 2050, Textiles

Find Articles - Fashion Databases and Journals

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

The Berg Fashion Library contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, reference works, ebooks, images, and museum exhibitions.
WWD Archive

WWD (Women's Wear Daily) is an essential source of fashion news and trends, and a primary source for materials about the fashion industry and its evolution.
Vogue Archive

A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Sourcing Journal
Offers a hub of global news and information, relied upon by leaders in the textile, soft goods, and apparel industries.
WindowsWear (sign up here)
The world’s largest and most comprehensive visual database of retail and e-commerce. Content includes visual merchandising, window displays, retail & interior design, product packaging, e-commerce, technology and more from the hottest global brands. You must sign up with your St. Kate's email to access the site.

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
Aims to be the journal of choice among scholars studying clothing, textiles, and related topics across the discipline. The journal publishes impactful scholarship that shapes the discipline. As the official journal of International Textile and Apparel Association Inc, it is peer-reviewed and is published quarterly.
Fashion and Textiles: International Journal of Interdisciplinary Research
Provides scholars and industry experts a platform to showcase the latest progress in the textile field.
Journal of Engineered Fibers and Fabrics
A peer-reviewed, pure open access journal which aims to facilitate the rapid and wide dissemination of research in the engineering of textiles, clothing and fiber based structures.
Textile History
Coverage: 2015- 2021. Deals with all aspects of the cultural and social history of apparel and textiles, as well as issues arising from the exhibition, preservation and interpretation of historic textiles or clothing.

National Council of Textile Organizations
Cotton Incorporated
National Cotton Council
DuPont
Emerging Textiles
Delivers statistical reports on global textile and apparel trade. Our data are compiled from official sources with additional comments from our editorial staff. We cover fiber prices, textile and apparel markets and trade rules and negotiations" (from the site homepage).
Fabric Link
Textile resource for fabrics, apparel, home furnishings, and fabric care.
Lenzing
Manufacturer of sustainable fabrics, such as Tencel.
Textiles Intelligence
A-Z Glossary of Sustainable Fibres (1 Million Women website)
Textile Fabric Types by Fiber Sources (Textile School website)
Fabric Switch Guide
From Common Objectives
Textile Industry Affairs
Understanding care labels and care symbols.
Textile Technology Source
Produced by the Industrial Fabrics Association International (IFAI),a not-for-profit trade association comprised of member companies representing the international advanced textiles and specialty fabrics marketplace.
Textile World
Business and industry news and events with articles about products, technology and manufacturing.