Research Guides: GSJ: Global Search for Justice: Environmental Justice

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

GreenFILE
A collection of scholarly, government, and popular publications on many aspects of human impact on the environment.

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PAIS Index

A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries

Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
ScienceDirect

A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.

Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.

Biological Sciences Collection on JSTOR

An archive of scholarly full-text journals, including the Biological Sciences Collection, which covers biodiversity, cell biology, conservation, paleontology, plant science, zoology, and more.
General Science Collection - Gale

A collection of over 550 journals in the sciences.

Environmental Health Coalition
Based in California, EHC is one of the oldest grass-roots environmental health organizations in the U.S. Check out the Fact Sheets under Publications.
EPA’s Toxic Release Inventory Program
The goal of the Toxics Release Inventory program is to provide communities with information about toxic chemical releases and waste management activities and to support informed decision making at all levels by industry, government, non-governmental organizations, and the public.
Dakota Access Pipeline Information
Information regarding the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe's stance on the Dakota Access Pipeline, which had it's application accepted by the U.S. Army Corps despite it violating the Fort Laramie Treaty and possibly contaminating the air and water on native land.

EJSCREEN: Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool Share
A mapping tool that combines data on environmental and demographic indicators in maps and reports
Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO)
Search your community to assess their compliance with environmental regulations. Maintained by the EPA
National Environmental Justice Advisory Council
This advisory committee provides independent advice, consultation, and recommendations to the Administrator of EPA on matters related to environmental justice. The page links to NEJAC reports on fish consumption, permitting process, community-based health resources, and others.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Established in 1970, the EPA is charged with regulating pollutants that harm humans and the environment, repairing damage already done and establishing criteria to guide development.