Research Guides: GSJ: Global Search for Justice: Disability Justice

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

Library Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries
Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
PsycInfo & PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A primary psychology research database from the American Psychological Association. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, sociology, education, social work, sports, business, and political science.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The primary database for nursing and alied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
CINAHL indexes all major nursing periodicals published in English, as well as selected periodicals for health education, laboratory technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation, radiology, respiratory therapy and social services in health care. Provides the full text of more than 1,300 journals, some with PDF backfiles to 1937. Indexing began in 1982.

Minnesota Resources

Disability Hub MN
Disability Hub MN is a free statewide resource network that helps people with disabilities solve problems and navigate the system.
Disability Minnesota
The purpose of this website is to provide a single entry point to over 100 Minnesota state agency programs, products, and services that are devoted to the range of disability issues.
Minnesota Compass - Disability Statistics
Disability statistics for the state of Minnesota
Minnesota STAR Program
STAR's mission is to help all Minnesotans with disabilities gain access to and acquire the assistive technology they need to live, learn, work and play.
The ARC Minnesota
The Arc Minnesota provides information and assistance to support people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families statewide.
Communication Services - State Services for the Blind
The Communication Center provides books, newspapers, magazines and other printed materials in braille, e-text, or human narrated audio formats for people who are blind, losing vision, DeafBlind or who have other disabilities that make it difficult to read print.
Advocating Change Together
A grassroots disability rights organization run by and for people with developmental and other disabilities.
Rainbow Health
Advocating for and serving the LGBTQ+ community, those living with HIV, and all folks facing barriers to equitable healthcare.
Special Olympics Minnesota
Special Olympics Minnesota offers children and adults with intellectual disabilities year-round sports training and competitions.

Websites

Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund
A leading national civil rights law and policy center directed by individuals with disabilities and parents who have children with disabilities.
Treat People Like People
A non-profit with the goal to raise awareness of abuse and neglect of people with disabilities and to educate people with disabilities and their families and guardians, and the general public on how to identify, report, and respond to abuse of people with disabilities.
The Disability Justice Resource Center
An online resource for legal professionals, continuing legal education courses, law schools, students and others dedicated to protecting the rights of people with developmental disabilities.
The Abolition and Disability Justice Collective
We are abolitionist psychiatric survivors, people with disabilities, and their accomplices. We believe in and work toward the liberation of all.
Crip Justice
Campaigns to free people with disabilities currently incarcerated in jails, prisons, psychiatry hospitals, and other institutions.
Centere for Excellence in Universal Design
Universal Design is the design and composition of an environment so that it can be accessed, understood and used to the greatest extent possible by all people, regardless of their age, size or disability.
Disability Visibility Project
The Disability Visibility Project is an online community dedicated to creating, sharing, and amplifying disability media and culture.
Sexuality and Disability
This site starts with the premise that people with disabilities are sexual beings – just like anyone else.
Disability History Museum
Hosts a library of virtual artifacts, education curricula, and museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
Museum of disABILITY History
Virtual exhibits
Eugenics and Scientific Racism
A fact sheet from the National Human Genome Research Institute about the history of eugenics and scientific racism.
Special Olympics
Special Olympics delivers more than 30 Olympic-type sports and over 100,000 games and competitions every year for people with special needs.
International Paralympic Committee
The IPC advocates for social inclusion and ensures the successful delivery and organization of the Paralympic Games. They act as the international federation for six Para sports.
Eugenics Archive
An unfiltered story of American eugenics – primarily through materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which was the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940.

GSJ: Global Search for Justice

Get Assistance

Contact a Librarian

Journals

Additional Links

Search Terms

Search for Articles, Books, and More!

Books & Ebooks

An Image of God

Crip Genealogies

Disability Visibility

Unruly Bodies: life writing by women with disabilities

Addressing Ableism: Philosophical questions via disability studies

Black Disability Politics

The Disabled Child

Cognitive Disability Aesthetics: Visual Culture, disability representation, and the (in)visibility of cognitive difference

Autistic Community and the Neurodiversity Movement

Academic Ableism

Work Requirements

Accessibility Denied. Understanding Inaccessibility and Everyday Resistance to Inclusion for Persons with Disabilities

Disability and Culture

Inheriting Shame

Library Databases

Minnesota Resources

Websites