Research Guides: English: ENGL 2220 Asian Women Writers

Required Readings

The following books are on 7 day reserve in the library. To access them, go to the library circulation desk and give them one of the following pieces of information:

Book title
Course title
Professor

Additional Resources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly articles in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
Coverage begins in 1923.
Contemporary Authors - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Background & biographical information on authors
This resource covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters.
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes full-page images from the entire Dictionary of Literary Biography series (the DLB Main Series, DLB Documentary Series, and DLB Yearbook Series), a mainstay in the reference collection for over 30 years.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Select "Asian Studies" to search for scholarly articles on Asian women writers and history
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on the topic of U.S. history
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on the topic of world history
This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.

English

Librarian

Required Readings

Additional Resources

Suggested Readings