An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.
JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Online version of The Oxford English Dictionary, the authoritative guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, from across the English-speaking world
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
As the OED is a historical dictionary, its entry structure is very different from that of a dictionary of current English, in which only present-day senses are covered, and in which the most common meanings or senses are described first. For each word in the OED, the various groupings of senses are dealt with in chronological order according to the quotation evidence.
Updated quarterly with at least 2,500 new and revised entries.
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes full-page images from the entire Dictionary of Literary Biography series (the DLB Main Series, DLB Documentary Series, and DLB Yearbook Series), a mainstay in the reference collection for over 30 years.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information about U.S. and international authors. This resource covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters.
This resource covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters.