Research Guides: Spanish: Hispanics in the US

Primary Sources

To search for oral histories, break your search into at least two parts:

1. Who you are researching Ex) Hispanic, Latinx, Chicana, Mexico

2. What type of source you are looking for Ex) Oral histories, memoir

Example searching Google:

Example searching LibSearch (Library Discovery Tool)

Minnesota Immigrant Oral Histories - MN Historical Society
Oral history interviews in Spanish and English in streaming audio with text transcripts.
Bracero History Archive
Oral history interviews with Braceros (Mexican guest workers)
Immigrant Stories
Personal, digital stories of immigration, identity place and belonging and first and second generation Minnesotans
Unheard Voices
"An online, storytelling platform of histories and experiences from immigrants and children of immigrants." (from website)
Mexican Labor & WWII - The Bracero Program
Primary sources from the Digital Public Library of America
Hispanic Reading Room
Links to collections in the Library of Congress relating to Hispanic history & culture
Oral History Interviews
Oral history interviews from the Institute for Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame
Latina & Latino Oral Histories
A collection of oral histories from the UCLA
StoryCorps Historia
Digital stories with Hispanic Americans as part of the StoryCorps project.
NIU Latinx Oral History Project
Oral histories documenting the lives of Latinx individuals living in the Midwest.
UCLA Center for Oral History Research
Explore oral history collections Latino/a history and the Chicano movement.
Hispanic Oral Histories - University of Utah
Transcripts of oral histories from Latinos living in Utah - primarily immigrants and children of immigrants.
Centro Archive
"photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving image and audio clips, and other material pertaining to the Puerto Rican diaspora"
Latino Chicago Oral History Project
Oral histories in audio, text, and video format on Latino activists, artists, and citizens living in the Chicago area.
Cuban Heritage Digital Collections
"Digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection."
Farmwoker Movement Documentation Project
"Primary source accounts by the UFW volunteers who built the movement"
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
"The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."
Chicano Por Mi Raza
"Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. Started by Professor Maria Cotera and filmmaker Linda Garcia Merchant in 2009, CPMR has traveled to over one dozen states to collect hundreds of hours of oral histories with notable Chicanas, Latinas, and allies."
Immigrant Archive Project
"The Immigrant Archive Project’s mission is to record, archive and share the stories of immigrants in the United States in order to help us understand the immigrant experience and its vital contribution to American society."

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database. You can narrow your search to journals in specific subject areas like history and Latin American studies.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on U.S. & Canadian history
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Google Académico
Google Scholar in Spanish

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive social sciences database with strong coverage of sociology, anthropology, education, and social work
A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Books

An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History

Routledge Handbook of Latin America in the World

Debating Race, Ethnicity, and Latino Identity

Our America : a Hispanic history of the United States

Latino/a Thought: Culture, Politics, and Society

Decolonial Voices: Chicana and Chicano Cultural Studies in the 21st Century

Defiant Braceros: : how migrant workers fought for racial, sexual, and political freedom

Websites

Pew Hispanic Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs
A public policy group that advocates for Latinos in Minnesota.
HACER: Credible Latino Research
A non-profit, community based research organization disseminates research for and with Latino communities