Research Guides: Spanish: Afro Latinidad

Primary Sources

To search for oral histories, break your search into at least two parts:

1. Who you are researching Ex)

Afro-Latino, Afro-Latina, Afro-Latine, Afro-Latinx
African Latino
Black Latino, Black Latina, Black Latine
Afro-Caribbean or Black Caribbean
AfroLatinidad or Black Latinidad
Afro-Latin American or Black Latin American
Afro-Hispanic or Black Hispanic
Afro-Chicano
Afro or Black [ethnic/national group]
- Black Puerto Rican
- Afro-Cuban

2. What type of source you are looking for Ex) Oral histories, memoir

Example searching Google:

Example searching LibSearch (Library Discovery Tool)

Additionally, you can do a basic lib search and filter the results on "Primary Sources" under "Resource Type" in the "Refine Results" section on the left of the page.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
A collection of more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans published between 1825 and 1995.

ArchiveGrid
Helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies. You can search by people, places, events and more.
Chicano Por Mi Raza
"Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. Started by Professor Maria Cotera and filmmaker Linda Garcia Merchant in 2009, CPMR has traveled to over one dozen states to collect hundreds of hours of oral histories with notable Chicanas, Latinas, and allies."
Hispanic Reading Room
Links to collections in the Library of Congress relating to Hispanic history & culture
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
"The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."

Independent Voices
A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals that were produced by feminists, Native Americans, Black Power advocates, and many more groups in the latter half of the 20th century.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

A collection of books, journals, and manuscripts devoted to the scholarly study of slavery from a multinational perspective.

Covers the transatlantic slave trade; the global movement for the abolition of slavery; the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system; and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, supreme court records, and more.

Databases

JSTOR

An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Historical Abstracts

A database that provides access to scholarly articles on world history

This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.
PAIS Index

A finding aid to publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries

Database chronicling global public policy and social issues. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1915.
SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive sociology database with strong coverage of social work, anthropology, and education.

A comprehensive social sciences research database with full text for more than 1,700 journals dating back to 1908. It also provides full text for more than 830 books and 14,000 conference papers. Subject indexing is based on a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Google Académico
Google Scholar in Spanish

Spanish

Websites

Primary Sources

Databases

Books

Videos