Research Guides: Spanish: Literature

Background Information

Dictionary of Literary Biography - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes full-page images from the entire Dictionary of Literary Biography series (the DLB Main Series, DLB Documentary Series, and DLB Yearbook Series), a mainstay in the reference collection for over 30 years.
Contemporary Authors - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
This resource covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Browse or search more than 100,000 sources from Encyclopædia Britannica.
Entries range from short to book-length articles. This resource includes:
- Thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files
- Links to thousands of websites selected by Britannica editors
- Thousands of entries from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
- Articles from selected magazines and journals
- Hundreds of video clips (requires Microsoft Media Player or Apple QuickTime)
- A collection of quotations from both historical and contemporary men and women on a wide variety of topics
- World Data Analyst - a collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world, including statistics, with tools that enable you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
- Gateway to the Classics - a selection of 225 works by 140 authors introducing you to the great writing and ideas of the Western world

Literature

Want to browse the shelves? Here where you can find Spanish literature:

PQ6001 - PQ8929

Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly articles in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
Coverage begins in 1923.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database. You can narrow your search to journals in specific subject areas like "Language & Literature" and "Latin American Studies."
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Google Académico
Google Scholar in Spanish