Research Guides: History: Indigenous Women & Colonization

Background information

Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements

Native American Almanac: More Than 50,000 Years of the Cultures and Histories of Indigenous Peoples

The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History

Everything You Wanted to Know about Indians but Were Afraid to Ask

Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: economic profiles of American Indian reservations

Books

An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States

Indigenous Activism: profiles of Native women in contemporary America

Violence Against Indigenous Women: literature, activism, resistance

Holding Our World Together: Ojibwe women and the survival of community

The Transit of Empire: Indigenous Critiques of Colonialism

Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies

Native Women and Land: narratives of dispossession and resurgence

Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
A database with primary sources, videos, and images relating to more than 600 Native American groups.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Primary Sources

American Indian Records at the National Archives
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music documenting American history and culture
more...less...
Brought to you by the Library of Congress
Digital Public Library of Amerca
The Water Protectors Oral History Project

Films

Warrior Women (Documentary)
Warrior Women is the story of Madonna Thunder Hawk, an AIM leader who cultivated a kindred group of activists' children, including her daughter Marcy, into the "We Will Remember" Survival School as a Native alternative to government education. Through their story, the film explores what it means to navigate a movement and motherhood, and how activist legacies pass from generation to generation under a colonizing government that meets Native resistance with violence.

Other useful resources

Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers