Research Guides: History: Articles

Core History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles covering world history topics
This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles covering US history.
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on a variety of humanities subjects including history
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.

Primary Source Databases

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, journals, and manuscripts devoted to the scholarly study of slavery from a multinational perspective.
Covers the transatlantic slave trade; the global movement for the abolition of slavery; the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system; and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, supreme court records, and more.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides digital access to the American Antiquarian Society's comprehensive collection of more than 7,500 titles, in 5 series, published between 1684 and 1912.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
A collection of news reports and transcripts from media sources outside the United States focusing on refugees and migration.
Reports from Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) looking at the refugee flows during World War ll through 1996.

HathiTrust
A collection of millions of books digitized from libraries around the world
Project Gutenberg
more...less...
One of the first sources of free electronic texts. Browse by author or title, or search for a specific item. All items are available for download.

Looking for a Journal

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar and access scholarly articles that St. Kate's Library subscribes to as well as other open-access, scholarly works.

You can also trace an article's impact by looking at who cited it in their own research;

Although it takes time for an article to make an impact in the field, being cited many times is an indication that the piece has been influential to other scholars researching that topic. Click the "cited by" link to see other potentially useful articles.

Search Strategies

Are you having trouble locating quality, relevant articles? Check out these resources for tips on searching databases. And remember...if you get stuck, don't struggle! Contact a librarian.

History

Librarian

Core History Databases

Primary Source Databases

Looking for a Journal

Find Journals, Newspapers & Magazines by Title

Google Scholar

Search Strategies