Research Guides: History: Modern Middle East

News Sources

U.S. News Sources

Middle East News Sources

Newspapers by country/state:

Middle East & North African Newspapers
Curated by George Washington University Library
World News Guide: Middle East
Curated by the Guardian
Middle East Newspapers
Curated by World-Newspapers.com
ABYZ News Links

Evaluating Online Information

Media Bias Chart

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles covering world history topics
This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles covering US history.
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on a variety of humanities subjects including history. Select the journal filters "Middle Eastern Studies" and "History" in the advance search screen.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series, providing scholarly coverage of many academic subjects.

Books

Browse the library shelves in these areas to find Middle Eastern History books:

DS 35-DS376

Primary Sources - Middle East

World Digital Library: Middle East & North Africa
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Flickr Commons
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives. The photos in this collection are public domain with no known copyright restrictions.
Islamic Heritage Project
Through the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.
The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record
Digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Part of the Avalon Project at Yale Law School
The Saddam Hussein Sourcebook
Declassified documents from the National Security Archive
Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA)
The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps of Egypt and Cyprus.
Arab Image Foundation
The Arab Image Foundation is a non-profit organization established in Beirut in 1997. Its mission is to collect, preserve and study photographs from the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab diaspora.
Matson Photograph Collection
This collection is a rich source of historical images of the Middle East. The majority of the images depict Palestine (present day Israel and the West Bank) from 1898 to 1946.
Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs
The materials selected for the debut of this evolving digital collection include classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as the Library's earliest works of photography in the Middle East region.... The digital collection ranges to the turn of the last century when entrepreneurial photographers and publishers mass-produced handsome mounted photographs, custom albums, and elegant photo-mechanically printed books for the tourist.
United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine
UNISPAL was established and is being developed by the Division for Palestinian Rights in response to successive General Assembly mandates. The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace. UNISPAL contains largely the English texts of United Nations documents with a growing number of links to the texts of the other official UN languages
Iranian Oral History Project (IOHP)
The Iranian Oral History Project (IOHP) is a unique resource for the study of modern Iranian history. The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, making it a unique online resource for social and cultural histories of the Qajar world.