Research Guides: History: Hidden Scholars: Women Scientists in Historical & Cultural Context

Background Information

Headstrong : 52 women who changed science-- and the world

Wonder Women : 25 innovators, inventors, and trailblazers who changed history

Breaking into the Lab: engineering progress for women in science

Women in global science : advancing academic careers through international collaboration

Biographical Information

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage

Soundings : the story of the remarkable woman who mapped the ocean floor

What Stars Are Made Of : the life of Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin

The Gentle Subversive: Rachel Carson, Silent spring, and the rise of the environmental movement

The Woman Rebel: the Margaret Sanger story

update to eBook

Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian History.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes and abstracts more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Book reviews, media reviews, and disserations are also indexed. Indexing began in 1954. This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through EBSCO.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database that provides access to scholarly articles on world history
This resource excludes the history of United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,000 journals. Also includes book reviews and dissertations. Indexing coverage begins in 1954.

This database is produced by ABC-CLIO, but you access it through the EBSCO website.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

JSTOR includes various collections, and the St. Kate's Library has purchased the Arts and Sciences Collections I-VII and the Biological Sciences Collection. These collections include subsets for ecology & botany, language & literature, and music.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers often include a "moving wall," which means that the most recent years (typically 3-5 years) are not available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal article collection, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields.
Coverage begins in 1997 for most titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Our link to Google Scholar enables you to see which documents you can access through St. Kate's.

Primary Sources

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images of the New York Times from 1851-2021.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans published between 1825 and 1995.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of more than 200 years of The Times (London) from 1785 up until six years prior to today's date.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page imaging of American newspapers from the 1800s, including every article, advertisement, and illustration.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides digital access to the American Antiquarian Society's comprehensive collection of more than 7,500 titles, in 5 series, published between 1684 and 1912.
DPLA - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
A national network of American libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions that makes millions of materials available in one place. Includes images, texts, videos and sound materials.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
A wide range of images and other primary source materials from the largest library in the world.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural collection of historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.